The DoDD 8570/8140 Directive

Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program 


Department of Defense Directive 8570 has been replaced by the DoD CIO as DoDD 8140; DoDD 8570 is now a part of a larger initiative that falls under the guidelines of DoDD 8140. DoDD 8140 provides guidance and procedures for the training, certification, and management of all government employees who conduct Information Assurance functions in assigned duty positions. These individuals are required to carry an approved certification for their particular job classification. Certifications are required for Technical, Management, CND, and IASAE classifications.

Who is affected by DoDD 8140:

Any full or part-time military service member, contractor, or local nationals with privileged access to a DoD information system performing information assurance (security) functions — regardless of job or occupational series.

  • Office of the Secretary of Defense

  • Military Departments

  • Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

  • Combatant Commands

  • Office of the Inspector General of the DoD

  • Defense Agencies

  • DoD Field Activities

  • All other organizational entities in the DoD

DoDD 8140 Requirements:

  • All personnel performing IAT and IAM functions must be certified.

  • All personnel performing CND-SP and IASAE roles must be certified.

  • All IA jobs will be categorized as ‘Technical’ or ‘Management’ Level I, II, or III, and to be qualified for those jobs, you must be certified.